Alford Manor House | Belton House | Boston Stump | Crowland Abbey | Doddington Old Hall | Gainsborough Old Hall | Grimsthorpe Castle | Harrington Hall | Lincoln Castle | Lincoln Cathedral | Tattershall Castle | Waltham Windmill
One of the few remaining complete working windmills in North Lincolnshire. This iconic brick and tarred tower mill has been fully renovated and is an ideal day out for visitors to the Lincolnshire Wolds. The current windmill dates from 1880 and is built on the site of a number of previous post style mills, dating back as far as 1666.
Visitors to the on-site museum can discover how the windmill played its part in people's everyday lives, with information boards, visual displays and an audio visual presentation. Other on-site attractions include craft shops, a herb centre, miniature railway and a railway carriage cafe serving hot and cold refreshments.
Opening times: Easter to Sept, weekends only, from 10am to 4pm
Small charge for Mill entry and Railway rides. Museum free - Donations welcome.
Location: Waltham village, off the B1203 Brigsley Road, DN37 0JZ - Tel: 01472 825620 - Website
Facilities: Free parking, toilets including disabled, cafe, children's play area and picnic area.
The original timbered building, dating from 1540, was encased in red brick in the early 18th century.
A magnificent example of Restoration country house architecture. Built in 1688, it was the home of the Brownlow family for nearly 300 years.
This is the name given to the 272 foot high tower of St Botolph's Church. The lofty lantern tower was once a beacon for Fenland travellers and navigators on The Wash.
The Abbey was founded in 716, on the site of St Guthlac's cell. The oldest parts of the present Abbey date from the 13th century. Hereward the Wake is said to be buried here.
An Elizabethan manor house built between 1593 and 1600.
Built around 1500, it was the meeting place of the Pilgrim Fathers.
Originally a medieval castle, it was transformed into a stone Tudor house in 1540. The north front was added in 1722 by Sir John Vanbrugh.
A 17th century Caroline mansion, whose terrace was the 'High Hall Garden' of Tennyson's 'Maud'.
The Normans built the castle in 1068, incorporating some of the old Roman defences. It has often been attacked and featured prominently in King John's struggle with the barons. It was stormed for the last time in 1644, during the Civil War, when the occupying Royalists surrendered to the Roundheads.
Originating in 1072, almost a century before the Battle of Hastings, it is one of the earliest Norman churches in Britain. Much of the present church dates from rebuilding after an earthquake in 1185 and was completed in 1280. The cathedral is now the third largest in Britain, after St Paul's and York Minster. It has one of the most spectacular western facades, framed by twin towers. It is one of the cathedral's great glories, said to have been designed to symbolise the gateway to heaven. The original cathedral had a timber roof, but this was destroyed by fire in 1141 and rebuilt in stone. The central tower at the eastern end of the nave has a five ton bell called Great Tom of Lincoln.
Its medieval brick tower keep rises 110 feet above the flat countryside.