Caerhays Castle is located just around Dodman Point some 4 km west of Mevagissey. This ancient manor was once owned by the Trevanions, one of whom fought for Henry at Bosworth Field. In 1808 the old manor was demolished and a large towered and castellated mansion erected from a design by John Nash, the architect of Buckingham Palace. The terraced gardens containing many ornamental and exotic trees and the house itself are open to the public during the summer.
Opening times: Feb ~ Jun Admission Charge
Location: Gorran, St Austell, Cornwall, PL26 6LY - Tel: 01872 501310 Website
Facilities: Parking, gift shop, tea room, castle tours.
The largest conservation tin mining site and heritage museum in Britain. Records the story of the once prevalent copper and tin mining process in the Pendeen area. Spread across 67 acres in a spectacular setting on the North Atlantic coast. Guided underground tours and interactive hands-on exhibits. Explore the old mine workings and ancient machinery houses.
A great value family day out. Sturdy footwear required.
Opening times: Sun to Fri, 9am to 4/5pm Admission Charge
Location: Pendeen, Penzance, TR19 7EW - Tel: 01736 788662 Website
Facilities: Refreshments, shop, free parking.
Lanyon Quoit is an impressive Neolithic structure dating from 2500 BC, located 3 km outside Penzance. It can be found standing close to the minor road that runs from Madron to Morvah. The heavy capstone was once supported on four granite pillars which permitted a horse and rider to pass underneath. But following a storm in 1815 the Quoit was rebuilt on three surviving legs and is not as tall today. It still remains an impressive sight, particularly at sunset when the dying sun is viewed through the pillars. The name "Quoit" comes from an old superstition that the structure was formed by ancient Cornish Giants playing a game of quoits on the moors. It is thought to have been a tomb, a centre for pagan ritual or both.
Opening times: any reasonable time Free Access
Location: on the B3306 between Madron and Morvah
Facilities: Nearby parking (in a small lay-by)
Pendennis Castle formed part of Henry VIII's coastal defence system. Completed in 1546, three years after the twin fort at St Mawes, across the estuary. Similar to the other forts in the chain, the castle consists of a central circular keep surrounded by semicircular bastions. It is also enclosed by a curtain wall of further semicircular gun platforms, added by Elizabeth I in 1598. Unlike St Mawes, Pendennis suffered severely during the Civil War but was restored during World War II, when it became a coastal defence post. The castle and grounds, which is a scheduled ancient monument, has a range fine buildings to explore.
*Run by English Heritage.
Opening times: all year (exc. Xmas), daily from 10am Admission Charge*
Location: Pendennis Headland, Falmouth, TR11 4LP - Tel: 01326 316594 Website
Facilities: Parking, shop.
During Victorian times this tiny little village was the hub of global telecommunications. It later became one of the world's busiest telegraph stations, playing a very important role in WW2. Today its secret tunnels are open to the public, housing a fascinating museum, where you can discover the facts behind the history of the telegraph system. You can even send your own encoded Morse code messages!
Opening times: Apr to Nov, daily, 10am to 5pm
Location: Porthcurno, Cornwall, TR19 6JX - Tel: 01736 810966 Website
Facilities: Daily demonstrations, family friendly activities, walks and trails.
Follow in the footsteps of 19th Century Cornish tin miners and take a guided tour around a genuine Cornish tin mine. This world heritage site is brimming with historic mine buildings and machinery, including a fascinating mining museum. Also contains Cornwall's only working steam beam engine.
Opening times: times vary (see website for details) Admission Charge
Location: Trenear, Wendron, Helston, Cornwall, TR13 0ES - Tel: 01326 573173 Website
Facilities: Cafe, picnic area, free parking, shop, craft activities, children's play area, evening ghost tours.
The remains of this 12th C. castle stand on a hill overlooking the River Fowey, surrounded by a 60 feet wide moat. The well preserved 13th-century circular keep of this splendid Norman castle is one of the oldest and most picturesque ruins in Cornwall. The extensive remains include the gate, keep, kitchens and great hall, plus the private rooms, bed chamber and private apartments of the lord of the castle. Run by English Heritage*
Opening times: Spring & Summer,
daily from 10am (closed Nov-Mar). Admission Charge*
Location: Nr Restormel Road, Lostwithiel, Cornwall - PL22 0EE - Tel: 01208 872687 Website
Facilities: Parking, refreshments, picnic area, gift shop.
Discover the fascinating story of the china clay industry and its affects on Charleston. View unique collections of artifacts and stories from over 150 local shipwrecks. Includes an extensive collection of memorabilia and rare film footage from the tragic Titanic disaster, including the original necklace (Heart of the Ocean) worn by Kate Winslet, from the 1997 film 'Titanic'.
Opening times: Mar to early Nov, daily from 10am to 5pm Admission Charge
Location: Quay Road, Charlestown, St Austell, PL25 3NJ - Tel: 01726 69897 Website
Facilities: Souvenir shop, parking nearby (charges apply).
One of the best preserved Tudor castles in Britain, set in a delightful location near to the picturesque fishing village of St Mawes. Built as part of a defensive chain of forts built between 1539 and 1545 to counter an invasion threat from Catholic Europe after the Dissolution. Similar in style to many other Tudor coastal defence forts, the castle is built in a clover leaf design, where a central circular keep is surrounded by three semicircular bastions used as gun platforms. An unusual feature is the display of heraldic decoration and various carved inscriptions in praise of Henry VIII. During the Civil War it capitulated to Cromwellian troops without much of a fight, which is why it remains in such good condition. The site is surrounded terraced gardens, offering superb views across Carrick Roads and Falmouth harbour beyond. Run by English Heritage*
Opening times: all year (exc. Xmas), 10am to 5/6pm Admission Charge*
Location: St Mawes, TR2 3AA - Tel: 01326 270526 Website
Facilities: Parking, shop, picnic area.
Legend states that King Arthur was born here, which is certainly possible, as the earliest identifiable settlement is Celtic (circa AD 400), although any connection with Tintagel cannot be proved. The site has a considerable history and the current remains that perch on the edge of rugged cliffs are of a royal fortress built in the 12th C. with many later additions. A steep pathway descends from the castle entrance to a shingle beach below, where a number of caves have been excavated by the relentless pounding of the waves. One such cave, sited just below the castle, is said to the ancient lair of the Wizard Merlin. Run by English Heritage*
Opening times: all year (exc Xmas), daily from 10am Admission Charge*
Facilities: Parking, refreshments, picnic area, gift shop.
Discover the interesting story of this 250 year old clay works, which is still in production today. Learn how the mining process has changed over the years and how China Clay is used in an range of products. Take a walk around the site looking at the historic buildings, ancient machinery and classic vehicles. You can also visit the viewing platform to see the modern massive open cast mining vehicles in action.
Opening times: all year, daily, from 10am to 4/5pm
Location: Carthew, St Austell, Cornwall, PL26 8XG
Tel: 01726 850362 Website
Facilities: Indoor and outdoor attractions, cafe, shop, woodland walks and nature trails.
Please note that the above information was accurate at the time this page was last updated. This information is subject to change at any time (opening times in particular), therefore if you plan on visiting any of the above attractions, please check the owner's website first or phone them for the latest details.