Brampton is a pleasant little Cumbrian market town, with cobbled streets and slate-roofed mellow brick and sandstone houses. The town is sheltered by wooded hills on the western flank of the Pennines, located within reach of Hadrian's Wall and Talkin Tarn country park.
Buildings of interest cluster around an old Moot Hall in the Market Place. This unusual 19th-c octagonal building with its clock tower, external staircases and iron stocks, was built by Lord Carlisle in 1817 as a central meeting place. It is now the local information centre. Street markets have been held in Brampton since Henry III granted the town's first charter in 1252. A small outdoor market takes place on Wednesdays and a farmers' market on the last Saturday of the month.
In High Cross Street, a shoe shop now occupies the house that was Bonnie Prince Charlie's headquarters, before he and his Jacobite army marched southwards in November 1745.
The local church was designed by the 19th-c architect, Philip Webb. The interior is illuminated by beautiful Victorian stained glass windows by Burne-Jones.
The main route east out of Brampton passes 'The Mote', a steep hill where a medieval castle once stood. A few miles further north the peaceful ruins of Lanercost Priory (circa 1165) stand in beautiful meadowlands, bordering the River Irthing.