Land-locked Northamptonshire, known as the 'rose of the shires', is bordered by eight counties. The areas rich pasturelands were given over to the wool trade in the 13th century but by the 1500s the production of leather came to prominence as the county's key economy. Then by the 17th-c shoe manufacture became Northamptonshire's main industry. The county is blessed with many beautiful unspoilt villages containing many old stone and thatched cottages.

It was here in these fields on the 14th June 1645 that the battle of Naseby took place. A key battle in the English Civil War, between Oliver Cromwell (Parliamentarians) and King Charles I (Royalists). The outcome of this battle was that King Charles I was defeated by Cromwell's Roundheads, in the first ever battle of the 'New Model Army'. This heralded the beginning of the end of the absolute Monarchy rule in the British Isles and eventually led to parliamentary democracy in Britain.

Kimbolton Village © Travel About Britain

Towns and Villages in Northamptonshire

Corby, Daventry, Higham Ferrers, Kettering, Kimbolton, Nassington, Northampton, Oundle, Stoke Bruerne, Towcester, Wansford, Wellingborough, Yarwell

Attractions in Northamptonshire

Althorp | Billing Aquadrome | Broughton House | Canons Ashby | Coton Manor Gardens | Deene Park | East Carlton Country Park | Fineshade Wood | Holdenby House | Hunsbury Hill Industrial Museum | Kirkby Hall | Lamport Hall | Rockingham Castle | Rushton Triangular Lodge | Saxon Churches | Sulgrave Manor | Waterways Museum | Wicksteed Park

The Midlands

Britain Midlands
Scotland North East North West Wales Midlands East Anglia South East South West

Please note that the museums, historic houses and attractions listed on this site may be currently closed due to Government Guidelines. Please check the attraction's own website for details of closure/opening times.


 • Festivals & Events  • Where to Stay  • What to Eat  • Walks & Trails  • Weather  • General Info  • News & Articles

UK Regions:

 • South East  • South West  • London  • East Anglia  • Midlands  • Wales  • North East  • North West  • Scotland