A famous British dish that is a simple but delicious treat. It has been a long time favourite on the menu for children and families nationwide - also known as Nursery Pudding.

Bread and Butter Pudding

This recipe serves two but you can easily double the ingredients to serve a family of four. An ideal recipe if you have too much bread left over that needs eating up.


  • 4 slices of white bread (or brown bread as required)
  • 50 grams (2 oz) of butter
  • 50 grams (2 oz) dried fruit (currents, raisins or sultanas)
  • 2 eggs
  • 285 ml (half pint / 10 fl oz) of milk
  • 25 grams (1 oz) of sugar
  • demerara sugar for sprinkling (optional)
  • half teaspoon of ground nutmeg or cinnamon

How to Make Bread and Butter Pudding (Nursery Pudding)

  1. Beat the milk, sugar and eggs together in a bowl.
  2. Grease a pie dish with butter.
  3. Butter the bread slices and cut into squares.
  4. Place one layer of bread onto the bottom of the pie dish then add some of the dried fruit.
  5. Add another layer of bread, then another of dried fruit and continue until all the bread has been used.
  6. Pour the milk and egg mixture over the layered bread and sprinkle the spices on top.
  7. Leave to soak for about 30 minutes.
  8. Preheat the oven to 190°C / 375°F / Gas mark 5.
  9. Sprinkle the top with demerara sugar (optional).
  10. Place the pie dish in the oven and cook for approximately 30 minutes until golden brown.

Serving Suggestions

Serve hot on its own or with custard or cream.

For a delicious Cornish version use slices of saffron cake instead of bread and for real decadence serve with clotted cream (as shown above).

Other recipes to try: Cornish Splits | Coventry God Cakes | Recipe Index

Recipe by Dorothy Benney (Falmouth, Cornwall)

Select A Region To Visit

Regional Map of Britain
Scotland North East North West Wales Midlands East Anglia South East South West


 • Festivals & Events  • Where to Stay  • What to Eat  • Walks & Trails  • Weather  • General Info  • News & Articles

UK Regions:

 • South East  • South West  • London  • East Anglia  • Midlands  • Wales  • North East  • North West  • Scotland