Cream of Vegetable Soup

A traditional warming soup made from fresh seasonal vegetables and full cream milk. A real farmhouse favourite.

Note: The consistency of the soup will depend on how much water is added during cooking. For a really thick soup use just enough water to cook the vegetables, without allowing to boil dry, and drain before blending. If you want a thinner consistency, add more water.

Ingredients for Cream of Vegetable Soup

  • 2 medium sized potatoes.
  • 1 medium sized leek (white part only).
  • 250g (1/2 lb) of peeled seasonal root vegetables, such as carrot, turnip and swede*
  • 250 ml (1/2 pint) full cream milk.
  • Seasoning (salt and pepper).

*Note: root vegetables make the finest puree but other seasonal vegetables, such as runner beans, celery and cabbage can also be used.

How to Make Cream of Vegetable Soup

  1. Wash, peel and prepare vegetables. Evenly chop into small pieces.
  2. Place chopped vegetables in a large pan and add enough water to just cover contents. Add seasoning to taste and boil for about 15 mins until tender. Top up water level if necessary.
  3. Blend or puree pan contents, then stir in milk until the correct consistency is achieved.
  4. Return to heat for 5 mins to warm through.

Serving Suggestions

Serve the soup hot, in a bowl, with a fresh bread roll.

You can also add a dollop of fresh cream or crème fraîche, with a few fresh herbs, for that extra special treat.

Other recipes to try: Tomato Soup | Leek and Potato Soup | Recipe Index

Recipe by Recipe by Lily (Lincolnshire)

Select A Region To Visit

Regional Map of Britain
Scotland North East North West Wales Midlands East Anglia South East South West

Please note that the museums, historic houses and attractions listed on this site may be currently closed due to Government Guidelines. Please check the attraction's own website for details of closure/opening times.


 • Festivals & Events  • Where to Stay  • What to Eat  • Walks & Trails  • Weather  • General Info  • News & Articles

UK Regions:

 • South East  • South West  • London  • East Anglia  • Midlands  • Wales  • North East  • North West  • Scotland