Lancashire Hot-Pot

A quick and easy meal to prepare that has its origins in the busy industrial towns of Lancashire and the north-west of Britain. The usual ingredients are lamb or mutton and onions, topped-off with sliced potatoes, although other meats, such as beef or pork, can be used. Traditionally the ingredients were quickly prepared and placed in a heavy clay pot in the morning before starting a shift at the factory. The pot was left to bake in the oven all day on a low heat so it was ready for consumption on return. Today it is a traditional meal served in British homes, pubs and restaurants all over the UK.

Ingredients for Lancashire Hot-Pot

  • 900 grams (2 lb) potatoes, peeled and sliced
  • 2 large onions, peeled and sliced
  • 4 carrots, peeled and sliced - optional (add more onions if carrots not used)
  • 3 lamb's kidneys
  • 900 grams (2 lb) neck of mutton chops
  • Salt and pepper
  • Water

How to Make Lancashire Hot-Pot

  1. Peel and slice the potatoes, onions and carrots.
  2. Skin and slice the kidneys.
  3. Place the chops in the bottom of a large casserole pot and cover with alternate layers of potatoes, onions, carrots and kidneys, seasoning well with salt and pepper.
  4. Finally cover with a layer of potatoes, and brush well with melted butter.
  5. Add a little water, and cook with the lid on in a hot oven, 425 °F (220 °C, gas mark 7) for 30 minutes, then turn the oven down to 300 °F, (150 °C, gas mark 2) and cook for a further two hours.
  6. Remove the lid for 30 minutes before serving to brown the top.

Serving Suggestions

Traditionally served hot with pickled red cabbage.

Other recipes to try: Roast Beef Dinner | Shepherd's Pie| Recipe Index

Recipe by David

Select A Region To Visit

Regional Map of Britain
Scotland North East North West Wales Midlands East Anglia South East South West


 • Festivals & Events  • Where to Stay  • What to Eat  • Walks & Trails  • Weather  • General Info  • News & Articles

UK Regions:

 • South East  • South West  • London  • East Anglia  • Midlands  • Wales  • North East  • North West  • Scotland