Rhubarb and Ginger Jam

Ginger has been imported to Britain from India and China in ever increasing quantities since the 11th century. Used to flavour breads, cakes, curries and sweet dishes.

Although rhubarb was not introduced here until the 16th century, it is now grown as a staple vegetable in gardens and allotment all over the country.

Rhubarb preserve can be a little bland and the tropical spice ginger gives it a good bite and extra flavour.

Ingredients for Rhubarb and Ginger Jam

  • 2 1/2 lb (1.1 kg) rhubarb, trimmed
  • 2 1/2 lb (1.1 kg) jam sugar (or caster sugar plus 1 x 8g sachet pectin)
  • Juice of 2 lemons
  • 4 oz (100 g) preserved or crystallised ginger, finely chopped
  • 1 oz (25 g) fresh root ginger

How to Make Rhubarb and Ginger Jam

  1. Wash the rhubarb and slice into 1in (2cm) pieces.
  2. Place the rhubarb in a large bowl, in alternate layers with the sugar and lemon juice. Cover and leave overnight to allow the sugar and juices to dissolve into the rhubarb.
  3. Prepare enough sterile jam jars for 3 lb jam.
  4. Crush the root ginger and place in a muslin bag.
  5. Put the rhubarb, sugar and lemon mixture into a preserving pan. Add the bag of root ginger. Bring to the boil and boil rapidly for 15 minutes.
  6. Remove the bag of root ginger and mix in the preserved ginger. Boil for another 5 minutes or until the rhubarb is really tender.
  7. Test for a set. Once the setting point is reached remove the pan from the heat and leave to one side for 2-3 mins. Skim off the scum and ladle into warm sterilised jars. Seal immediately.

Serving Suggestions

Serve on warm buttered toast or scones or use as a jam layer in sponge cake.

Other recipes to try: Toffee Apples | Victoria Sponge | Recipe Index

Recipe by Lily - Lincolnshire

Select A Region To Visit

Regional Map of Britain
Scotland North East North West Wales Midlands East Anglia South East South West


 • Festivals & Events  • Where to Stay  • What to Eat  • Walks & Trails  • Weather  • General Info  • News & Articles

UK Regions:

 • South East  • South West  • London  • East Anglia  • Midlands  • Wales  • North East  • North West  • Scotland