dumplings prepared ready for cooking

Flour and suet dumplings are added to a wide range of stews and pottages in many areas of Britain to create a complete and filling meal. Herbs are often added to the dumpling mix for a more distinct flavour. For a lighter dumpling (made without suet) see our Herb Dumpling recipe.

Dumplings are simple to make and very versatile. You can add herbs, spices, grated cheese and many other ingredients to create a variety of tasty accompaniments to stews and soups. In the West Country dumplings are known as 'doughboys' and in the Norfolk area dumplings are not made with suet but with just flour, water and baking powder. In the Cotswolds, dumplings are made with cheese, rolled in breadcrumbs and fried, not steamed in a stew. Scottish 'clootie' dumplings are made with sugar, spices and dried fruit, then wrapped in a cloth (clootie) and boiled in plain water.

Main Ingredients

  • 100 g (4 oz) self-raising flour
  • 50 g (2 oz) suet
  • approx. 40 ml (2-3 tablespoons) cold water
  • salt and pepper to taste

How to Make Suet Dumplings

  1. Mix together all the dried ingredients.
  2. Add in the water gradually until a dough is formed.
  3. Flour your hands, then divide the dough into eight pieces, rolling them into balls with the palms.
  4. Chill in the fridge until needed.
  5. About 20 minutes before the stew is finished cooking, carefully place the dumplings onto the top of the stew using a spoon, cover with a lid and continue cooking until the dumplings have risen fully.

Serving Suggestions

Suet dumplings are great when cooked in a dark meat or beef stew.

Other recipes to try: Herb Dumplings | Lamb Stew | Recipe Index

Recipe by Susanne (East Anglia)
Image Credit: Homemaker (CC0)

Select A Region To Visit

Regional Map of Britain
Scotland North East North West Wales Midlands East Anglia South East South West


 • Festivals & Events  • Where to Stay  • What to Eat  • Walks & Trails  • Weather  • General Info  • News & Articles

UK Regions:

 • South East  • South West  • London  • East Anglia  • Midlands  • Wales  • North East  • North West  • Scotland