Lyddington is a pleasant rural village in the county of Rutland. The settlement is classically arranged along a single main street, forming a double row of ancient stone and slate roofed houses.

Lyddington Main Street
Main Street, Lyddington © Travel About Britain

Most of the older dwellings are built of local brown ironstone, and several cottages display date-stones that make it possible to trace the architectural change from Jacobean to classical style.

Church of St Andrew

Church of St Andrew © TAB

The mainly Perpendicular Church of St Andrew is noted for its medieval wall paintings and brasses. Alongside the church stands a restored 15th century bishop's residence named Bede House.

The bishops of Lincoln used the village as a travellers rest since the time of King John and retained a manor house here from about 1200. The present Bede House was built by Bishop Russell in the late 15th-c. The spacious Great Hall on the first floor, where the bishops once held audiences, has stone-mullioned windows and a magnificent carved oak ceiling, typical of the period. The name Bede is derived from the old English word "biddan", meaning to pray.

Bede House
Lyddington Bede House © Travel About Britain

The manor was surrendered to Henry VIII in 1546. In 1602 Thomas Cecil, Earl of Exeter, converted it into an almshouse, with a row of cell like rooms, each with a bed and a cooking hearth. The property is run by English Heritage and open to the public from Wednesday to Sunday, 10am to 5pm.

At the southwest angle of the precinct is a watchtower, with views out over the village street, known as The Bishop's Eye. Depressions in the ground to the east of the village are the remains of a network of medieval fishponds.

Map of Lyddington

The Midlands

Britain Map Midlands
Scotland North East North West Wales Midlands East Anglia South East South West

Towns and Villages in Rutland

Attractions in Rutland


 • Festivals & Events  • Where to Stay  • What to Eat  • Walks & Trails  • Weather  • General Info  • News & Articles

UK Regions:

 • South East  • South West  • London  • East Anglia  • Midlands  • Wales  • North East  • North West  • Scotland