Cairngorm foothills

Cairngorm Foothills © TAB

North East Scotland contains the counties of Aberdeenshire, Moray and the Cairngorms National Park. This area is dotted with famous castles such as Blair, Braemar, Corgarff and Victoria's Royal Balmoral. Many fine malt whisky distilleries can also be found along the River Spey in Moray.

The Cairngorm mountain range includes the Cairngorms National Park and the extensive remnants of the ancient Great Caledonian Forest. The Cairngorms form the largest National Park in the UK, covering some 4,500 square km of dramatic and unspoilt countryside. The Park offers a wide range of facilities and attractions, from castles, whisky distilleries and waymarked trails to adventure parks and extreme outdoor sports. In particular, the area near Aviemore is now Britain's principal winter sports region.

Map of North East Scotland


Regional Map of Britain
Scotland North East North West Wales Midlands East Anglia South East South West

Towns and Villages in North East Scotland

Aberdeenshire: Aberdeen, Ellon, Fraserburgh, Huntley, Inverurie, Peterhead.
Moray: Elgin, Fochabers, Forres, Rothes, Lossiemouth.

Attractions in NE Scotland

Braemar Castle | Atholl Museum | Blair Castle | Blair Atholl Watermill | Cairngorm Railway | Grantown Museum | Cairngorm Reindeer Centre | Corgarff Castle | Dalwhinnie Distillery Visitor Centre | Glenlivet Estate | Glenmore Forest Park | Highland Folk Museum | Highland Wildlife Park | Landmark Forest | Rothiemurchus Centre | Strathspey Railway | Tomintoul Museum


 • Festivals & Events  • Where to Stay  • What to Eat  • Walks & Trails  • Weather  • General Info  • News & Articles

UK Regions:

 • South East  • South West  • London  • East Anglia  • Midlands  • Wales  • North East  • North West  • Scotland